Event Calendar
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
Webinar: Bankruptcy 101
Thursday, September 20, 2018, 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM CDT
Category: Webinars

Webinar: Bankruptcy 101

Complimentary REOMAC Webinar

2 p.m. EDT / 1 p.m. CDT / 12 p.m. MDT / 11 a.m. PDT
Thursday, Sept. 20, 2018

Join us to discuss bankruptcy basics for the real estate practitioner. Our presenter will focus on the creditor’s rights in a bankruptcy proceeding and how bankruptcy can affect loss mitigation efforts, such as short sales and loan modifications.

Register for the webinar 

 

Presenter: Brenda A. Likavec, Supervising Bankruptcy Attorney, Potestivo & Associates, P.C.

Brenda A. Likavec joined Potestivo & Associates, P.C., in January 2018. Brenda serves as the Supervising Bankruptcy Attorney working out of the firm’s Chicago office. Brenda graduated from Purdue University with a Bachelor of Arts in English. She went on to receive her Juris Doctor from Valparaiso University School of Law, where she graduated Magna Cum Laude. During her time in law school, she served as the Executive Editor for the Valparaiso University Law Review, Volume 41.

Prior to her role at Potestivo & Associates, P.C., Brenda was Managing Attorney for one of the largest consumer bankruptcy firms in the country. She has represented thousands of debtors in both Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 proceedings since 2011, handling adversaries, resolving objections, and multiple court calls.

Honorably, Brenda was selected for the Bankruptcy Liaison Committee for the Northern District of Illinois Bankruptcy Court for a two-year term in 2017. The committee includes Chief Judge Hollis as well as several other prominent Judges from the district. She is also a current member of the American Bankruptcy Institute.

Brenda enjoys her bankruptcy work and has a particular interest in ethics issues. In the Fall of 2017, she co-authored CLE material for the ABI Conference in Chicago regarding relevant ethical issues for consumer bankruptcy attorneys. Outside of the office, she volunteers her legal advice to The Calumet Artist Residency, a not-for-profit organization focused on building the arts in Northwest Indiana.